Our First ever Photograph

  Our News Letter

Martyrs' Memorial

In order to keep alive the memory of those Obeeans who laid down their lives while in active service in the Indian Armed Forces, Brig. L.C. Patnaik innovate the idea to construct a Martyrs  Memorial in the school campus in 2002. OBA sprang into action immediately.

The foundation stone of the memorial was laid on 05.01.2003 by Smt. Kanchanlata Sahoo, proud mother of 2 IAF officers. Obeean Prakash and Pradip who laid down their lives for the nation.


The Bhoomi Puja of the Memorial was performed by the Hon’ble  Chief Minister of Orissa Shri Naveen Patnaik on 15/12/2002. Our dream of having a Martyrs’ Memorial came true when it has dedicated to the nation in a glittering and colorful ceremony on 12/12/2004 by the Hon’ble Defence Minister Shri Pranab Mukherjee.

OBA took initiative to construct a park and boundary wall around the Martyrs’ Memorial. Our goal was achieved because of generous donation from a large number of well wishers including the Orissa Mining Corporation and the Indian Air Force. Sahid Park was inaugurated by the then Chief of Air staff, Air Chief Marshal S. P. Tyagi on 25/12/2006.

Indian Air Force again came forward to help us by making arrangement, for illumination of the Park. An aircraft was also installed by them which was inaugurated by the then Chief of Air Staff, Air Chief Marshal Foli. Major on 11/01/2009.

OBA House
It is a long felt necessity to have our own Club in Bhubaneswar. The OBA house project will be funded by the PATRON members who are required to make minimum contribution of Rs. 10000 each. A patron automatically becomes a member of the OBA Club. We propose to start OBA Club in Bhubaneswar in a suitable rented accommodation latest by 31.03.2010. Dr. Amitav Mohanty and S.R. Mohanty have been entrusted the task of initiating the process of formation of OBA Club.

Cyber Cafe
Obeean R. K. Tripathy, IAS (Gujurat) donated Rs. 5 lacs for opening a cyber café in the name of his mother
Late Sushama Tripathy.

Financial Assistance
Obeeans generously funded the entire school fees of Cadet Ritesh Kumar for about 3 years. We are proud that Ritesh has joined NDA. Presently OBA is extending financial assistance to 2 needy cadets and will continue till they pass out from the school.

Felicitation Function of 3 Star Generals
The Old Boys' Association of Sainik School, Bhubaneswar which has been playing a pioneering role in highlighting the achievements of its cadets felicitated these distinguished soldiers in an impressive function in Sainik School, Bhubaneswar at 9:30 AM on 11.01.2009. Those who were felicitated include the following:

(1) Lt.Gen.J.K. Mohanty, UYSM, SM, VSM-General Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Central Command. He is not only the first Lt.General of the State, but also has the rare distinction of being the first Army Commander from Orissa.
(2) Lt.Gen. K.P.D. Samanta, VSM - A distinguished soldier who is currently posted as the Director Geneal, Rashtriya Rifles.
(3) Lt.Gen.Partha Mohapatra, Signal Officer Commanding in Chief of Indian Army.
(4) Lt. Gen. P.K.Rath, AVSM - The Corps Commander of 33 Crops.
(5) Air Marshal S.K.Bhan, AVSM, VM - Presently the Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief Eastern Command.
(6) Air Marshal Jyoti Narayan Burma AVSM VSM - Air Officer in charge Administration of Indian Air Force - Air HQ, New Delhi.
OBA has also felicitated Rear Admiral Nikunja Mishra, who holds the highest rank from among the cadets of Sainik School, Bhubaneswar in the Indain Navy.

OBA honoured Air Commodre Tushar Kanti Rath, who has distinguished himself in the in the area of aero sports and adventure. He has been qualified Para Jump and Skydiving instructor for the last 35 years. He was the first skydiver to jump in Lakshadeep Island in 1999 and holds the National Record for skydiving and landing at Leh at an elevation of 14800 feet in 2003. He has been awarded the prestigious. Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award by the President of India in 2008.